... beauty ..., ... country ..., ... heartsick ..., ... life ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... prose ...

early morning beside the willamette river

roll river
roll, there is
no tumult to
thy course –

in hushed power
you move steady, you
placate to no man –

the obdurate force of
a hundred freight
trains rests in your
belly, while

you gently sing for me
a laconic reverie –
with gratitude my
soul takes flight

skimming thy steamy
waters, one toe dragging
behind it, an eternal
V – roll river, roll.

Standard

3 thoughts on “early morning beside the willamette river

  1. I like this a lot although I have a question in my mind.
    Mainly I love the strong representation of the power of the river and the contrasting sense of peace. I’ve read the poem several times now and that comes through steadily. There’s also a melodious sound to the lines, and a simplicity. Most effective!
    But my question is why the choice of ‘thy’? Isn’t it archaic? Have you made a decision to bring that in to underscore the timelessness of the scene? Or was it an unconscious choice? You don’t mind me asking, I hope.

    • I really appreciate the question. This poem went through several edits and this really helped me understand my own choice of words. Here are the reasons – one is practical and the other has some poetic meaning.

      I am really bothered by repetitive words in poems. My first draft used “hushed” twice and it drove me nuts. There are too many words out there to ever repeat any in a piece. Pronouns don’t usually fall into this but since I was speaking to the river the “you”s and “your”s began to pile up. This got me searching for something else.

      As I sat there pondering another way to address it, I wanted to convey a measure of reverence or holiness. It really was a beautiful scene so I chose Thy at first then changed to thy – because there can be only one “Thy.” These lead to thous also and that just read ridiculously so i mixed pronouns leaving the reverence at the beginning and ending.

      Thank you for asking!!

      • Ah yes, I see. I can identify with the desire to avoid repetition of words, although of course your repeat of “roll river roll” is intentional — and very satisfying.

        Also I understand that search for words that would convey reverence. The poem certainly does that.

        Thanks for opening up on this!
        John

Leave a Reply

