... addiction ..., ... Applachia ..., ... beauty ..., ... country ..., ... experimental ..., ... ghosts ..., ... girl ..., ... God ..., ... kiss ..., ... life ..., ... lips ..., ... love ..., ... music ..., ... pain ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... poetry ..., ... relationships ..., ... religion ..., ... sins ..., ... Spring ..., ... summer ..., ... the South ..., ... the sun ..., ... time ..., ... weed ..., ... written under the influence ...

A Perfect Peace in the Afternoon Spring

It was in the Spring of
The mighty Cottonwoods when
I knew that this love of ours
Was both true and eternal.

Those cloud-white flitting, falling blooms
Made the air of Earth but
Space. A shimmering shower of stars,
With Heaven’s depths notched in the deep

Brown ridges of their bark skin.
The grass melted into galaxies
Beneath my feet – their green
Blanket appeared as the great

Nebulae, through clear streams
Of Cosmos. The finest scene,
Art’s greatest achievement in
That infintesimal moment, where

Sight, senses, soul, and heart made
Perfect peace, within me.

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Perfect Peace in the Afternoon Spring

  1. Hmm… my own imminent foray into vocal samplings of my work has me thinking that this would be a fine piece to HEAR. I don’t suppose there’s any chance at all that you’d considering posting soundclips along with some of your pieces? There’s such a beautiful flow to this one,… like it’s made to be read aloud.

  2. Sonny says:

    … falling blooms made the air of earth but space.

    I read this over and again. Pieces of it at a time– until I was ready to put it all back together. There’s a quietness– a solitude– to the feeling in this poem that I feel drawn into. Interestingly enough, in light of the previous comment, I read it out loud (well, whispered under my breath), phrasing it differently until it–perhaps I should I– felt complete.

Leave a Reply

