... beauty ..., ... communion ..., ... country ..., ... God ..., ... life ..., ... music ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... poetry ..., ... sins ..., ... Spring ..., ... the South ...

Come Ye Sinners Poor and Needy

Here is one more little vid I did. Playing around with the old hymn, Come Ye Sinners Poor and Needy.
I threw in a little improv about halfway through.
More late night Hymn playing. In Georgia. Go figure.
There is one really funky note. My apologies, it was all un-rehearsed.

Standard

17 thoughts on “Come Ye Sinners Poor and Needy

  1. This reminded me of my mother when I was a child. Many nights she’d get the Presbyterian hymnal out and play a couple of hymns – I think it was a sort of therapy for her after dealing with five children and a jerk husband all day. You play beautifully and with emotion. I wish I could spend evenings listening to you play.

    • well i’m glad. i can attest, its very therapeutic. I will usually play through a dozen or so hymns late at night when the house is asleep. ill be sure to post some more for ya…

  2. Thanks. I sent the youtube link to all my sisters and my mother’s grandchildren. Do you play Plangdoodle? Well, that’s what we called it when we begged her to play it.

    • well thank you for the encouragement M. My piano playing is a pretty private thing so I hesitate to put this stuff out there. When you’ve been playing it so long, it’s hard to tell if it’s any good or not. Thanks. I will try to put one up every now and again.

  3. Sonny says:

    All the energy of the soul concentrated into the very tips of the fingers. At its best, it’s hard to separate where the fingers end and the instrument begins. I have always loved– been fascinated by– the hands of a pianist. The touch and flow and nimbleness of the fingers so important to the music that spills out. These posts are so lovely… I agree there should be more.

    • Funny thing is that I am fascinated by that as well. When I play I don’t really ‘see’ my fingers and hands moving. (Most of the time my eyes are closed anyways.) 😉 So watching myself play something is a little surreal. I know that you are also a player – you should try it.

      • Sonny says:

        well I have to say I had this strange observation (perhaps the teacher in me getting too strong). You are so still and quiet. The only movement- all the energy- is focused in your hands. I’m afraid I haven’t the discipline (or the training) to keep my body that quiet when I play. Your piano teacher(s) would be proud. 😉

      • when i play standing in my country band, it’s not so still.

        when it’s just me and my piano…well that’s a totally different story.
        it’s quite an intimate affair.

Leave a Reply

