... addiction ..., ... beauty ..., ... girl ..., ... life ..., ... love ..., ... music ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... poetry ..., ... relationships ..., ... religion ..., ... the South ..., ... time ...

Invisible Lady

for twenty-seven years i have
lusted after your
slippery folds.

black on white on black
each finger on your body
is me reaching out of my
dark places and into your
essence. the tones we
vibrate from your lungs,
cedar and pine, crystallize
before me as they strike
bitter chords within.

soul and marrow are broken
asunder beneath the
weight of this struggle.

our search among strings of
steel and velvet and
lacquer finish for those
timbres that will set
my heart in tune.
for once, home will
be in the subtle
motifs you play
with red nails
across the
flesh of
my back.

resonated by your shimmering skin.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Invisible Lady

  1. Sonny says:

    This one tugged at my own frustrations. Aside from the sensual tone– it made me think of the many hours I’ve spent trying to make the piano sing the song that goes round in my head– too often unsuccessfully.

    “for twenty-seven years i have
    lusted after your
    slippery folds.

    black on white on black
    each finger on your body
    is me reaching out of my
    dark places and into your
    essence.”

    yep– I get that.

  2. so enjoy this passionate freedom by which you speak of music… and wrapped around a woman … a million moments and not enough… that elusive touch of happiness and whiskey… i shall toast a song’s arrival…

Leave a Reply

