... addiction ..., ... death ..., ... God ..., ... life ..., ... love ..., ... pain ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... poetry ..., ... relationships ..., ... religion ..., ... sins ...

A New Man

like a leech Victorian
you have bled me –
in search of impurities
and viral mentalities.

you stitched my wound
and placed me on white
sheets where i lay for
many days under your

stoic care. occasionally
you’d glance down from
your steeple perch at my
miserable estate. once

the scars were dried
you placed me on the scales,
minus the impurities and germs,
i was left a lighter man than

before, and when levied with
my brothers, i came up
wanting. all that was wrong with
me is, in fact, what had made me.

Standard

4 thoughts on “A New Man

Leave a Reply

