... beauty ..., ... Fall ..., ... life ..., ... poem ..., ... poems ..., ... poetry ..., ... rain ..., ... sleep ..., ... summer ..., ... time ...

Rain after Summer: a pleasant lament.

ah rain. sweet rain.
with each heavy gray
drop i feel you
washing summer
off of my dead,
dry skin.

clean me from head to toe.
i’m not like Peter. wash
my feet and my head and my
hands and my body. sink
me in a river of rain. tie
a millstone to my neck and
toss me into the depths.
suffocate me with these
cumbersome clouds.

clean me, as if
preparing me
for burial. purge me
with hyssop, just
as you purged
David.

the long nights are coming on fast
and i’d like to see Winter’s solstice
from six feet under ground.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Rain after Summer: a pleasant lament.

Leave a Reply

