... poems ..., ... poetry ...

If You Love Me, Won’t You Let Me Die?

If you love me, won’t you let me die?

See my toes curled up under satin sheets

As they lower me into the ground.

I close my eyes and try to imagine the blissful silence of that sound.

If you need me, won’t you let me live?

Watch my eyes flicker as I wake up late on Saturday.

Only a flattened pillow for my headstone

With no desire to slide from these covers, this bed, this home.

Let us find for ourselves a field full of flowers

Lazy bright colored heads bobbing to and fro in the Spring winds

There we can steal a simple plot of tender Earth

And in your love, bury me there.

To watch as dirt replaces my rectangle sky

Oh if you love me, won’t you let me die?

Standard

Leave a Reply

